Something to Read When You're Bored


I made it 3 months!
April 1, 2008, 2:32 pm
Filed under: Athletic

As of last night at 10pm (when my dance rehearsal ended) I have officially earned my new housecleaning services by exercising every day for three months! Good thing too because my new cleaning lady, Misty, is scheduled for tomorrow. Here’s the breakdown for my final month of exercise for the sake of avoiding housework:

  • I ran 14 times, went to 5 rowing classes and 4 dance rehearsals, went swimming 3 times, went on 4 walks, did yoga 4 times, did 2 strength workouts, and went snowboarding once.  That’s a total of 37 workouts, which tells you that six times in the last month I was crazy enough to do two workouts in one day.
  • I spent a total of 2,435 minutes exercising, or just over 40 hours
  • My average workout length was about 1 hour and 6 minutes, mostly due to long dance rehearsals (2 and a half hours) and rowing classes (2 hours)
  • I ran a total of 64 miles and my longest run was 13 miles, which I accidentally did on Saturday when I was supposed to go ten. At least now I know that I’ll be ready for my half marathon at the beginning of May. I’d say that was also my most hardcore workout (although there were some hill workouts that felt pretty brutal too).
  • My most fun workouts were the rowing classes, which I definitely hope to keep up during the spring and summer (dance rehearsals are a lot of fun too, but rowing was more novel).

I’m so used to working out every day that now it would feel strange not to do it anymore. I think I’ll make it my next goal to go another three months and then see how I feel about continuing for the rest of the year. The tricky part will be keeping up the workout schedule while I’m in China for most of May (woohoo! I’m going to China!!!) I guess if I can pull that off another 7 months after that won’t seem like much of a challenge.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

