Something to Read When You're Bored


Scrabulous!
March 7, 2008, 12:02 pm
Filed under: Fun, Life | Tags: ,

I really love playing Scrabulous on Facebook. I’ve had a game going with my dad for at least the last month and he’s completely kicking my ass. I finally found out what his big secret is (aside from the fact he’s a ridiculously good scrabble player, so much so that nobody but his Mom will play with him anymore): he pulled out the scrabble set from home and keeps a tray with his current scrabulous letters sitting in front of his keyboard at work. So basically he can spend all day looking for that brilliant next play and then log on to facebook to make his next devastating move. He even sent me a photo of this sweet little setup:

scrabble.jpg

I like to think that eventually I’ll learn to be a better scrabble player by playing with him, so I’m choosing not to let it get to me that I’m currently being beaten by over 150 points. One of his favorite tricks is to use every one of his letters in a single turn, which in the Scrabble world wins you an extra 50 points. This manouver is demonstrated below where he played first ‘increase’ and then ‘osteoid’ – I still don’t even know what osteoid means.

scrabbleboard.jpg

I was pretty proud of my ‘laborers’ move, but it used two pre-existing letters so no bonus 50 for me. But if anyone else on facebook is keen on wordgames, I’m all about Scrabulous (and I’m learning to be a pretty gracious loser too). Oh, and if you see any good moves I can make with my current letters (below), feel free to suggest a play. Maybe that will be my new secret Scrabulous strategy….

scrabblestats.jpg

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it just somehow seems lonely when it says “0 comments” so I had to do something about it. I think “rejig” should fit somewhere, although “gorjee” (or would it be “jorgee”) would be much more fun. Uselessly, me

Comment by Tim

I’m really late to the party here, but I just stumbled onto this post and had to say, I love it! What an awesome set-up from your dad. Really lovely. I hope you managed to win a few games. ^_^

Comment by Jane McG




Leave a Reply

